love letters of great men - reflektion

Läste igår ur Alexander Pope's brev till Martha Blount (1714):

"It is some proof of my sincerity towards you, that I write when I am prepared by drinking to speak truth; and sure a letter after twelve at night must abound with that noble ingredient. That heart must have abundance of flames, which is at once warmed by wine and you: wine awakens and expresses the lurking passions of the mind, as varnish does the colours that are aunk in a picture, and brings them out in all their natural glowing. My good qualities have been so frozen and locked up in a dull constitution at all my former sober hours, that it is very astonishing to me, now I am drunk, to find so much virtue in me."

Kan inte låta bli att dra paralleller till dagens fylle-sms som skickas vid vilken tid på dygnet som helst. Tänk om Pope hade vetat hur framtiden skulle urarta...hade han ansträngt sig så då?

L


Kommentarer
Postat av: Frikadellen

Fylle-sms med gåspenna. Allt var en smula vackrare förr.

2010-05-08 @ 23:04:03
URL: http://frikadellen.blogg.se/
Postat av: Louise

Indeed

2010-05-08 @ 23:25:57

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0